I’m Back!

Well, that was an unfortunate hiatus.

For those of you who don’t know, I’ve spent the last ten weeks studying for the second level of the Certified Equity Professional certification.  It’s been a ton of work, and it’s been stressful, and my exercise and diet has completely fallen by the wayside – especially over the past few weeks, when all I was focused on was preparing for the test.  But now, the test is over!  For now, at least, but the point is that I can get my focus back on my health!

The bad thing I have to report is that all of the stress eating caused me to regain some weight.  Not a huge amount, in the grand scheme of things, but now I’m only down 101 pounds from where I started two years ago.  Nevertheless, I refuse to be beaten by that.  Instead, I have a plan – something I alluded to a couple of posts ago, and something I’ve been planning for several weeks now.  Here it is.

First, I’m going to get back on task with my walking.  The goal is still 5.5 miles per day, with a stretch goal of 7 miles per day.  That’s an increase from the old stretch goal of 6 miles per day, mostly because hitting six miles was a little too easy.  If I hit the 5.5 miles, it’s usually at a time of day where I’ll walk another half mile anyway.

Second, I’m getting back on task with my calorie counting.  The “stay within my calorie goal” check box in Habitica has turned blood red and has been glaring at me for weeks, and it’s time to get that back to green.  Also, and more importantly, I really need to eat better anyway.  And when I count my calories I tend to do this very thing.

Third, I’m getting back to my daily workout routine.  For the moment that means five of my Lightning Fitness cards, four times per week.  I’ll do that for two weeks, just to start getting back in the swing of things, and then I’ll figure out the next step.  That’ll probably be some stretches and work with my dumbbells, and some squats and crunches.  Or maybe it’ll be more cards.  I haven’t quite decided yet, but it’ll probably depend on how well the cards are working out for me.

Fourth, in the “I can’t believe I’m saying this category”, I’m going to start building up to doing some running.  I can’t believe it, because I never expected to go down this track.  But a few weeks ago, while playing Zombies Run on a treadmill, I realized that is was hitting a pretty steady 3 mph as a speed that I could keep up for a while.  I mean, I went an hour (to hit my walking goal), and realized I could have probably kept it up for another mile or two.  And that’s when the little voice in my head said “I wonder if I could get up to 4 mph?  For two miles?”  Now I want to do that thing.

Actually, I want to try to get to 6 mph for at least 2 miles.  But I’m going to hit 5, first.  Which will involve about ten weeks, I think.  My plan is to hit the treadmill every night.  The first week, I’ll do two miles at 3 mph.  The next, two miles at 3.2 mph, and so on until I hit 4.  That’ll take me into mid-August, when I’ll see how I’m feeling.

Fifth, back to doing Kung Flow.  Why?  Well, partly because it’s good exercise.  But mostly because I want to be able to do stuff like this:

So, yeah.  I’ve got a plan.  It’s straight-forward, and doesn’t have a whole lot of moving parts, and I’m confident it’ll work.

Leave a Reply

