I’m Feeling Emotional Today…

My son graduated from kindergarten yesterday, which was a really bittersweet thing.  I’m incredibly proud of what he’s done so far – I love being his dad, and watching him learn and grow and achieve things.  But, it’s hard.  I mean, it doesn’t feel like it’s been all that long since he was an infant.  Since he could easily fit in the crook of one arm and I could carry him all day.

Now?  Well, I can still carry him with one arm.  As long as he hangs on, that is.

It hit me hardest, I think, last Friday.  I headed straight home from work to pick him up, parked the car, and started walking.  As I walked, it hit me that this was the last time I’d be walking him home from school.  He starts first grade in the fall, and he’ll be riding the bus then.  Sure, I’ll be meeting him at the bus and walking back with him from there, but… well, I couldn’t shake that last time feeling.  I want him to grow up, and I want to see the man he’ll become someday.  But I want him to be my little boy, for a little longer at least.

Damn.  I am feeling maudlin today.

In other news, my weight loss efforts have been largely sidetracked by this test.  I’ve been stress-eating the last few weeks, and struggling to hit my walking goals.  I’m super glad that it’s over on Saturday, because I’ve got plans for getting back on track then.  For the next few days, though?  I just plan on trying to maintain.  And on enjoying the summer vacation afternoons with my son.

 

Leave a Reply

