Failing To Save Time

Things went a little off the rails yesterday, because I had to leave work early to take care of my son.  He was sick, and my work has a more generous policy revolving around using sick time to take care of children, so it fell on my shoulders to take him to the doctor.  Fortunately, it turned out to be allergies and he’s doing just fine now.  But it means I fell short on my walking goal, and I didn’t do such a great job of sticking with my calorie goals, and yadda yadda yadda.

What happened?  Well, he was hungry when we left the doctor’s office – it was around noon, which is when he has lunch at Kindergarten, and instead of doing the smart thing and going home and making peanut butter and jelly, I did the quick thing and went to McDonalds.  Didn’t even think about it.  Just hit the drive through, which is the strangest part.  We ate at home anyway, so what was the point of going through the drive through?  It’s not like we saved any time or anything.

Still, no beating myself up.  I’m feeling good, right now.  I had my breakfast and lunch packed last night and ready to go, so I got up and did part of my daily exercises before I got out of the shower.  Yes, at 3:30 a.m., I was doing planks and rotator cuff exercises and working on my legs.  It felt… well, to be honest, it felt really strange.  But I was nice and awake once I was done, so that was nice.

Leave a Reply

