New Day One Check-In

This blog has always had an element of public accountability to it – my way of having the entire world (or, at least, the tiny part that reads what I writ) keep me honest.  So, with that in mind, let’s start off by looking at how day one of the new plan went:

  • After a full accounting of everything I ate, I came in under my calorie budget!  2,311 calories out of an allowed 2,500.
  • Breaking my meals up “Hobbit style” (first breakfast, second breakfast, lunch, snack) really seemed to work.  I started getting hungry every few hours, but the times I started getting hungry happened to coincide with my next meal, so that was a success.
  • With the bronchitis still going, I didn’t even attempt to meet my walking or exercise goals.  On the other hand, I believe I disclosed that I wouldn’t be making the attempt until after I recovered, so that’s mostly a non-issue.

How do I feel?  Honestly, I’m pumped.  After months of beating myself up over not meeting my calorie goals, it’s nice to see some success.  And no, the fact that I came in under budget with a higher budget doesn’t bother me in the slightest.  The calorie budget isn’t supposed to be a punishment, after all.

What’s coming up next?  Well, clearly, day two and another day filled with success.  Also, a day filled with reminding myself that I’m not yet healthy enough to be doing exercise or pushing myself to meet a walking goal.  Not with the wheezing sound I’m making as I breathe.  Although, despite sounding worse, I’m starting to breathe more easily and sleep better.  So I’m hoping that’s a good sign.

Anyway, here’s to another 24 hours of success!

Leave a Reply

