Something Is Still Better Than Nothing

Despite the best of intentions, I haven’t quite hit all of my exercise goals this week.  It’s harder than I remembered to hit my walking goals, when it’s cold enough that water turns into a solid, and there’s enough demands on my day that getting my exercise in is difficult.  Not that I’m giving up, mind.  I’m just noting the difficulties.

Still, I haven’t done too badly.  Assuming I calculated everything right, I came in under my calorie budget yesterday.  And the day before.  And Tuesday I only missed it by 33 calories, so I feel all right with that.  And I’ve walked over four and a half miles each day, even if Tuesday was the only day I hit my five and a half mile goal.  So, again, not too bad at all.

Now, I don’t want this to turn into a tedious screed about calories and walking.  That’s not my point.  My point is that, even though I haven’t hit all my goals, I’ve hit some of them.  Failure, to my mind, would be giving up and refusing to do anything.  That’s not what I did, clearly.  Sure, I could have done better.  But I didn’t fail.  I just didn’t achieve everything I wanted to do, because I made a decision to prioritize and do other things instead.  I could have exercised, or I could have played a board game with my son.  I could have walked, or I could have gotten enough sleep to get up at 3:15 am.

Life is about choices, when all is said and done.  Choose well.

 

Leave a Reply

