No Year Resolutions

Hey!  It’s 2017!  Welcome back to Half of Me!  I’m in a really, really good mood, and I’m looking forward to this new year, and I’m celebrating it by not making any new years resolutions.

Yeah.  That’s right.  No resolutions.  I don’t need them, because I’ve already got my goals in place.  I’ve spent the last 17 months rocking my goals, taking myself from 419 pounds down to 308 even on January 31.  That’s one hundred and eleven pounds in 17 months, people.  Just from following my goals of eating better and exercising more.  Clearly, it works.  So what motivation do I have to make a bunch of new goals just because of an arbitrary turn of the calendar?

None.  None whatsoever.

But I do have the motivation to do this!  I’ve got 89 pounds left to go, and I feel like I could get that done this year.  Heck, if I can manage to lose two pounds a week, I’ll have it done by the week of November 6.  And I think that 2 pounds a week is a realistic goal.

And if I don’t?  If I go slower than that, because 2017 has the same sort of crises that slowed down my weight loss in 2016?  Then I slow down.  Then I don’t hit an arbitrary target date.  That’s fine.  You know why?  I’ll tell you why.

This weight loss journey has never been about hitting specific timetables.  I’ve forgotten that, from time to time, but it’s true.  I didn’t even have a specific idea about how fast I’d lose weight when I started, and I didn’t even really believe that I would lose weight.  The point isn’t even weight loss, precisely.  It’s about health.  It’s about changing my life, about being able to climb stairs, and go for walks with my wife, and play with my son.  It’s about looking better, and feeling better about myself.  Based on that, I’ve already succeeded.

Here’s to 2017.  The year in which I have even more success!

Leave a Reply

