The Year in Review

So.  2016.  What can I say about the year that we’re about to leave behind?

dumpsterfire2

That’s sure what it feels like, doesn’t it?  Lots of famous, popular people died.  Politics upset a whole lot of people.  Nazis have stopped scuttling for cover when you turn on the lights.  That sort of thing.

It hasn’t been all bad, though.  Not really.  There’s a number of lists of good things that happened this year, and here’s my favorite.  And it doesn’t even mention the New Horizon probe flying past Pluto, or Juno rendezvousing with Jupiter.  Or the fact that I’m almost 30 pounds lighter than I was on January 1, or the fact that even though I didn’t have the same success I had in 2015 I’ve kept the weight off.

It’s easy to listen to the news and get discouraged.  It’s easy to learn that childhood icons passed away, and get depressed.  It’s tempting to obsess on the things you wanted to achieve, and not to see the things you did achieve.  It’s utterly human to hear bad news, and think that things are worse now than they’ve ever been and that they will never, ever get better.

But they do.  And they will.  And they have.

I’ve lost 30 pounds this year, and kept it off.  I live in a world where my son only knows about chickenpox from television, and has never even heard of measles.  I’ve taken up contact staff spinning and contact juggling as hobbies, and I’m walking long distances for fun.  I can do 20 push-ups, and all of my stretching has made my joints far less stiff than they once were.  I sleep better, and I’m eating better, and I feel better than I have in a long, long time.

It’s been a good year, overall.  So let’s let’s see it out in style.

 

Leave a Reply

