Shaking Things Up A Little

Clearly, it’s no surprise to those of you who have been reading this blog that I’ve been in something of a slump for the past several months.  There’s lots of reasons for this, and one of them is the fact that there have been family medical issues, and recently a couple of deaths in my extended family, and things have been completely out of sorts.  It’s hard to work in exercise, for example, when taking care of a sick child.  Six-year-olds get clingy, when they don’t feel good.

Part of the problem is also that I have a terrible habit of saying “f**k it” and overeating when I miss my calorie budget.  Which is a genuinely bad idea, to be honest.  After all, there’s a significant world of difference between eating 2,300 calories and 3,200 calories, when your target is 2,200 calories.  But, frustrated and annoyed, I chuck it out the window and hit the ice cream.

So, I’m going to try something different.  My original thought had been to bump myself back to 2,500 calories and work back down again.  But then, as I was getting things set up to make that change in FitBit, I decided to check out the “Let us set a goal for you” section of the tracker.  And it pointed out that, if I burn 1,000 more calories a day than I consume, I should lose two pounds a week.

Folks, if I hit my exercise goals and eat sensibly, that’s doable.  Historically speaking, before my current slump, I was burning in excess of 1,000 calories a day more than I ate and I was losing at about that rate.  So I’m going to try doing a dynamic calorie budget for a month, and I’m going to see what happens.  My target will be about 2,300 – 2,500 calories consumed and 3,300 – 3,500 calories burned through living and exercise.  If I go over my target calories consumed, I just need to make sure to exercise and walk on top of that (so, I may be hitting that treadmill more).

I feel like this’ll work.  I mean, I feel really good about it.  Sure, it requires me to be honest about tracking my food, but I should be doing that anyway.  And it puts the focus back where it should be, on exercise and behavior, and takes it off the obsession about what I eat.

Leave a Reply

