Stupid Election. You’re Making Exercise Hard.

Man, that was a tiring night.

I’m not going to talk politics here, so relax.  If you friended me on Facebook or followed me on Twitter, you know what my political views are.  If you just read this blog, you probably won’t care.  You’re here to see how my journey to health is progressing, not to hear me pontificate on the results of the election.  Which is totally fair, because I’m not going to do that here.  But the election has had a small impact on my health journey.

Why?

Because I got no sleep to speak of.  I stayed up late (for me) to see what the results were.  When I finally fell asleep around 9:30, there was (at that time) no winner.  Then I dreamed strange, political dreams in which first one candidate and then another accumulated in excess of 8,000 electoral votes (which can’t happen, but dreams don’t care) and then I woke up around 2 am.  That’s an hour and a half early.

At that point, I made a crucial mistake.  I had to go to the bathroom, so I thought I’d check on the results while I was waiting.  An hour and a half later I was still reading (in a different room, obviously) and my alarm went off.

What does this have to do with my weight loss, you ask?  Just this:  I’m tired.  I’m tired, and that makes me more likely to make poor food decisions.  So I’ll need to watch myself.  Tired Richard is dumb Richard.  But I need to be careful, because my next check-in is tonight and I really want to be able to say “I hit everything!”

Leave a Reply

