Getting All Political, Here

Hey, it’s Election Day here in the United States!

That was the political commentary.

Day one of the new competition/support group went well, I think.  A few texts were exchanged throughout the day, and then we had a quick phone call at the end of the day.  Mostly a combination of good-natured smack talking and actual supportive conversation.  We talked about out goals, and what we’re trying to do to achieve them, and generally came out at the end feeling positive and pumped up to really get out there and do this thing.  We also established the ground rules for what happens every two weeks and my friend has to buy me lunch – nothing really outrageous, and try not to go more than $10 or so.  The goal isn’t for me to bankrupt him or anything, when he loses repeatedly.

2i78x75

Yeah, yeah, I’m into the competition.  What can I say?

In all seriousness, I’m feeling pretty good about things.  Sure, I overate yesterday – my team bought breakfast and lunch as a way to welcome four new reps onto the team, so I ended up with 106 calories left in my budget by noon, but I hit all of my exercise and walking goals.  Which felt good.  And part of my conversation with my friend reminded me of the progress I’ve made – both of us have lost some weight, and we talked about how much easier it is to do things, and to walk up stairs, and to chase our kids, and generally it made me happy about where I am and made me look forward to where I’m going.

Yeah, I’m really looking forward to this.

Also, one last political thing:  the 2016 election season is finally almost over!

Leave a Reply

