Microwaving for Health!

I bought a bunch of microwave dinners last night, which I’ll admit is a random-sounding way of starting a post.  But bear with me, because there is method to my madness.

See, I’ve been overeating a whole lot recently.  Mostly because I’ve found myself crunched for time in the morning.  And yes, I know that means that I should try to get up a little earlier.  That said, I get up at 3:30 in the morning.  I’m not going to get up earlier.  But I digress.  I get crunched for time in the morning, and so I end up racing out the door to get to work.  And then I buy breakfast out, and I buy lunch out, and next thing you know it’s 10 am and I’ve eaten 1,400 calories and I am not in the mood to wait until dinner and the vending machines are right over there and…

Well, you can see where this is going.

So, I bought some microwave meals.  Breakfast sandwiches, pasta bowls, things like that.  Most of them in the 400 to 600 calorie range.  Perhaps not the most objectively healthy things I could be eating, but you know what?  It’s planned.  It gives me something to work with, as a way of reducing the impulse purchases that happen when I’m staring at a menu and feeling hungry (and which inevitably lead to purchasing with my stomach instead of my calorie budget).

Leave a Reply

