What do I mean by “working out”?

“Working out”, which in my mind is “all of the non-walking exercise I do”, has managed to change significantly for me over the past… what is it, now?  Fifteen months?  Something like that.  Anyway, the definition has changed significantly.  When I first started out, I didn’t work out at all.  I wasn’t sure I was going to, because this walking thing was hard.  Really hard.  Like, “my legs feel like they’re carved out of wood and pain” hard.

Then I hit my first benchmark, 40 pounds down and 20% of the way to goal, and I realized that I’d need to start doing more than just calorie counting and walking.  That’s when I added those Lightning Fitness cards I wrote about last year.  I started out with five of those cards, twice a week, and built up.  By the time I stopped using them, some eight months later, I was up to eight of the cards four times a week.

Now I’ve got a personal trainer that I visit once a month, so she can run me through the wringer for an hour.  My current workout routine is generally the last two sets of exercises she put me through – she changes things up on me so that I work different muscles and so that I don’t get bored.  I do one set of exercises on Monday and Thursday, and a second set on Tuesday and Friday, and give myself Wednesday and the weekend off.  (I’ll spare you the details of the exercises, unless there are requests.)

And then there is the Kung Flow warm-up routine.  This is about ten minutes of stretches and joint rolls designed to loosen you up for staff spinning routines.  I do it each day, Monday through Friday, whether I get a chance to practice with my contact staff or not.  Why?  Exercise.  Oh, and I’ve got a family history of arthritis and stiff joints, so I figure that anything that helps increase flexibility will be a good thing in the long run.

So, there you have it.  When I talk about “walking and exercise” I’m talking about walking 5.5 miles a day plus around 30 minutes of moderately vigorous bodyweight workouts and stretching each day.  Before I do things like give my son horsey rides or wrestle with him or fight with toy lightsabers.  And the lightsaber thing is serious exercise as well, because it requires me to chase him all over the house, hop on one leg when he “cuts” my leg off, and fall over dead before hopping back up to get struck down again.

Leave a Reply

