Correlations with Causation

I’ve noticed that my willingness to overeat directly correlates with how tired I am, and also with whether or not I’ve packed my own lunch.  I significantly overate yesterday, because I was extremely tired for no good reason whatsoever.  I’d had plenty of sleep the night before (I thought), but I spent the whole day struggling to stay awake.  This led me to get up late (for “I didn’t get out of bed until 3:50 am” values of “late”), so I didn’t make breakfast or pack lunch.  Then, because I was tired, I ate a bunch of junk food in some unconscious attempt at spiking my blood sugar and getting energy.

Clearly, this is not a winning strategy.  But it is a reminder that I need to make sure to try to get plenty of sleep.

Leave a Reply

