Good grief

It turns out that last week wasn’t a very productive week in the world of weight loss, because I gained 4.8 pounds.  Clearly, I’m not happy about this – even though there were a few extenuating circumstances.  After all, I did have an upper respiratory infection, which caused me to not hit my exercise goals.  And that’s a good reason for not exercising, I think.  Exercising while sick is a terrible idea.  Sadly, it doesn’t excuse blowing through my calorie budget.  Nothing about being sick forces you to eat (although, in all fairness, I understand that steroids can make you hungry).

All right, now I’m done beating myself up.  I’m not going to do this to myself.  So I gained a few pounds.  So what?  That’s not the end of the world, and it’s not the end of my goals.  Gaining a few pounds does not doom me to failure.  It’s a brand new week, and I feel a lot better.  My coughing is gone, and the sinus drainage I have is manageable.  So, rather than focus on past failures, I’m going to focus on the future.  On the opportunities to get out and walk this week, and on seeing if I’m up for some exercise this week.  Heck, I even managed to pack my lunch!

What, that doesn’t sound like an achievement?  Trust me, it is.  Packing a meal means I eat a whole lot less (and typically enjoy it more).  Homemade egg salad and watermelon!

Leave a Reply

