Eating Well: Fajitas

For various reasons (including my own cholesterol levels) I’ve been trying to cut back on my consumption of red meat recently.  So, that’s meant an increase in the amount of poultry and seafood I eat – lots of chicken, lots of turkey, and not so much fish (because I’m not sure how to cook it and the price intimidates me into not wanting to experiment).  Oddly enough, though, the fajitas started life with this thought:  “You know what would be good?  Shrimp tacos!”

Yeah.  Chicken fajitas came out of shrimp tacos.  How?  Well, I started looking at how to make that fish taco sauce, and realized I didn’t have half the ingredients I needed.  But as I checked my pantry and refrigerator, I discovered that I had everything I needed for the fajitas.  So, that became dinner.

Chicken Fajitas

Ingredients:

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 boneless skinless chicken thigh
1 sweet pepper (I used red, but any color will work)
1 onion
Garlic powder
Chili powder
Paprika
Cumin
Lime juice
Cooking oil (olive oil would be nice, but I had canola oil)

Directions:

  1. Slice your chicken into thin strips (around a quarter of an inch wide), and place the strips in a container.
  2. Mix two tablespoons lime juice, one tablespoon cooking oil, one teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon paprika, and 1/2 teaspoon cumin together.  Pour over chicken strips, and toss chicken until well coated.
  3. Cover chicken and allow it to marinate.  I suggest at least 15 minutes, but in truth I ended up marinating it for about 24 hours.
  4. Slice your pepper into thin strips (about the same thickness as your chicken).  Do likewise with the onion.
  5. Heat a tablespoon of cooking oil in a large skillet over high heat.  Add the vegetables to the chicken, and toss well.
  6. Add the chicken and vegetables to the hot skillet, and cook until the chicken is no longer pink (this took me about 10 minutes, but it may take less time if your stove isn’t old and needing replacement).
  7. Serve on warm tortillas.  I added a little shredded sharp cheddar, a tablespoon of sour cream, and a half ounce of avocado.

Notes

  1. This is a fairly low-calorie recipe.  Cooked chicken breast comes in at 18.5 calories an ounce, and I put a total of 6 ounces on my 2 tortillas, so that’s 111 calories.  The two tortillas combined added another 290 calories, the light sour cream and the cheese added another 10 calories each, and the avocado added 20.  The red pepper and onion were pretty negligible, so that was 441 calories.
  2. Like tacos, fajitas are pretty user friendly.  Add additional vegetables or use different ones.  Use turkey or lean beef or even tuna instead of the chicken.  Play around with the spices.  Go wild, and enjoy yourself!
One thought on “Eating Well: Fajitas

  1. Pingback: Pinterest Recipes » Eating Well: Fajitas – Half of Me

Leave a Reply

