Vacation Time Is Over

Maybe, just maybe, I should have said something like “…and I probably won’t be updating regularly until my vacation is over” in my last post.  Because that’s certainly what happened.

So, anyway, it’s been a week since my last update.  A week in which I gained a little over a pound because I spent my vacation not bothering to exercise or hit my calorie budget or anything like that.  And I could probably beat myself up about that, but I won’t.  Because I only gained a little over a pound, and that isn’t bad at all given what I did.  But I’m not going to.  Because I made a choice, and because of something pretty cool that I did over vacation.

About this time last year, I took my son to Big Bone Lick State Park.  When I did that, I felt pretty good because I managed to walk the entire nature trail there and only had to stop and rest once.  Well, we went back this year (and I took my five year old nephew along with my son).  And it really demonstrated the difference a year can make, because I walked that trail without stopping and then walked the other trail to go try and see the bison again (and we didn’t see them this year, either).  My legs didn’t ache, I wasn’t particularly sweaty (other than from the heat), and the only time I sat down was when we stopped for a water and granola bar break because the kids were thirsty and hungry.

It was… interesting.  I’d built it up in my head that I’d get a lot of walking done that day, because I remembered how much work it had been last year and assumed it would still be that much work.  But it wasn’t.

Sometimes, it’s nice to get that validatioin.

Leave a Reply

