For want of a nail…

Things really did not go well for me, yesterday.  I missed my exercise goal, my walking goal, and my calorie goal.  All because of a cascading series of problems.

It all started with trying to pick up my son from preschool, so I could go to the dentist.  The road that leads to my house was backed up, and I saw cop cars in the distance.  So I turned around and went an alternate way – only to discover that the other end of the road was also closed.  By police cars.  Which, as you might imagine, was disconcerting.

In the end, I had to park at a nearby church and walk half a mile to go pick up my son.  While I’m there, though, the preschool mentions that their power was out – something I hadn’t noticed, because I simply assumed that the lights were off because it was nap time for the younger children.  I didn’t give it too much thought, though, because I had to get back to my car and get to the dentist (which I managed).

After the appointment, my wife calls me.  It turns out that the power is out for our condo complex as well, because three or four utility poles were down.  How, I don’t know.  But it gets better, she tells me – it may be midnight before they get the electricity back on.  So she’s made arrangements for our son to stay the night at grandma’s house, because we don’t want to have him sleeping in a building without air conditioning while it is swelteringly hot out.  So I run him over, and then arrange to meet my wife for dinner.

I also run through a drive through.  Because it’s about 5 o’clock, and I ate lunch at 10 am.  I try to keep it small, but I’m hungry.  And then I meet my wife for dinner, and then we go see a movie.  Because the power isn’t on yet.  It made a pleasant excuse for an impromptu date night.

Finally, about 9:30, we make it home.  The power is back on (yay)!  But at this point I’ve blown through my calorie budget, and there’s no way I’m going to go and wrap up my last half mile walking and then do half an hour of exercises.  Not when I have to be up in five hours.  Instead, I collapse into bed and fall asleep.

So I missed all of my goals.  All because of some utility poles.

Leave a Reply

