I Am So Terribly Frustrated Right Now

Here I am on day three of my aching back, and I feel like I’m going stir crazy.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.  Even back before I started walking all the time and exercising, I hated the feeling that I couldn’t get up and move.  It’s one of the things that make me a terrible sick person – I don’t mind laying around in bed all day, as long as it’s voluntary.  But put me in a position where I have to lay around, and I immediately want to go somewhere.  Anywhere.

As a result, it’s killing me that I can’t go walking.  And that I can’t exercise.  I even – slightly foolishly – tried.  I dragged myself out on my first break yesterday and hiked up one of the nature trails around my office.  A quarter mile into the walk on uneven gravel trails, and my back was twinging enough to make me wonder what the heck I was doing to myself.  And then, despite my back being sore, I had to force myself to sit and read during lunch.

On the up side, I don’t know that I would have ever expected to write a sentence like that before I started all of this weight loss.  So, that’s a good sign.  And I think it’s proof that I’ll be back up and working again just as soon as my back feels better.  Which is another concern of mine, to tell the truth – historically, if I start an exercise program and then have to lay off for a bit due to injury or illness, I don’t start back.

I know that won’t happen this time, because this isn’t the first injury or illness that has stopped me from exercising.  But I still worry.

Ah, well.  C’est la vie, and all that.  I will – hopefully – be back up and running (well, walking) by Monday.

Leave a Reply

