Eating Well: Omelettes

I haven’t done one of these in a while. Which is funny, really, since I’m putting more effort into cooking and eating at home these days. But I thought I’d talk about breakfast, since it is hands down my favorite meal of the day. For me, breakfast is eggs. They have been since as far back as I can remember, and I’m a cheerful creature of habit. And right now, I’m making omlettes. Why? Because they’re quick and easy and it turns out that the calorie cost of the meal isn’t that bad. So, here we go:

Basic Omelette a la Gant

3 extra large eggs, 240 calories
2 slices American Cheese, 100 calories
2 turkey sausage links, 70 calories

Directions:

  1. Heat a medium skillet over medium-high heat.
  2. Cook sausage, slice into chunks.
  3. Beat eggs in a bowl, pour mixture into skillet. Cook until hardened.
  4. Place cheese on cooked eggs. Place sausage slices on cooked egg. Fold cooked egg over itself.
  5. Serve.

Notes:

  • This is not a complicated recipe by any stretch of the imagination. I also have no idea how other people make omelettes – this is just how I make them.
  • As is, the recipe is 410 calories. That’s not bad for breakfast.
  • This is a pretty basic recipie, and you can add or substitute anything you want. Ham or turkey or bologna or sardines instead of sausage? Done. Sharp cheddar and Gruyere instead of American cheese? You got it. Toss some mushrooms and peppers and leftover corn in the omelette? Sure. Just be sure to account for the extra calories as needed. Oh, and toss the vegetables in the skillet for a few minutes, so they get warmed up.
Leave a Reply

