By the skin of my teeth

I barely made my walking goal yesterday. Here’s what happened:

I was exhausted all day. I’m not entirely sure why, either. I didn’t get as much sleep as I’d have liked, but it wasn’t so little as to explain trying to fall asleep on the couch.

But I digress. As I said, I was tired. So I get myself through the process of getting my son ready for bed and tucking him in, and stagger back into the bedroom to crawl into bed.

And then I get back up and down three times, as I remember things I have to do before going to sleep. The third time up, I happen to check my FitBit. Guess what it says?

5.49 miles.

That’s right. All I want to do is go to bed, and all I need is a little over a hundred steps to hit goal. So I get myself up again and walk to the front door.  And by the time I’m on my way back to the bedroom, the FitBit notifies me that I’ve hit my miles for the day.  So I crawl back into bed, exhausted but content that I’ve done what I needed to do.

And then I spend an hour and a half trying to fall asleep. Go figure.

Anyway, the important thing is that – even though I didn’t want to, I hit goal. Yay me!

Leave a Reply

