Speaking of “Not Easy”…

I very nearly didn’t make my walking goal yesterday, thanks to a small but spectacular car repair. It’s really difficult to get your walking goal in when you’re spending a bunch of time dealing with a garage. Particularly when you have to leave work early to do the dealing, and your walking schedule is built around the idea that you get around half of it done on breaks at work.

Still, I managed. The same can’t really be said for meeting my calorie budget for the day, sadly. Without going into too much detail, let me just say that I really need to start checking calorie costs before I order when I eat out. Also, I need to assume that the menu items that I think will taste the best will also have the most calories. Sausage gravy and biscuits are not low-calorie foods.

So here’s a corellary to yesterday’s maxim that “simple doesn’t mean easy”: sometimes, life really gets in the way. You can have the best plan in the world, and some days it just won’t work. The key, on these days, is not to lose focus or hope. As several motivational images that keep showing up on Facebook say, failure is an event. Not a lifestyle. If you fail one day, just dust yourself and succeed the next. And if you fail that next day, dust yourself off and keep trying.

And avoid the sausage gravy and biscuits. Seriously. You can’t eat lunch or dinner, after eating that.

Leave a Reply

