Just Because Something’s Simple, That Doesn’t Mean It’s Easy

So.  304.6 pounds.  I’m now only 5.6 pounds from my next benchmark, and from being under 300 pounds for the first time in… hm…. I don’t actually remember.  Seriously.  I don’t recall the last time I weighed less than 300 pounds.  Well before I met my wife, I know that much.

But 304.6 pounds.  It’s nice to see some progress again, after several weeks of stagnation.  I attribute it all to getting back to fundamentals:  making my own meals.  Staying within my calorie budget.  Hitting my exercise goals.  Nothing fancy here – just a nice, simple strategy that works.

But, as I’m sure you can understand, simple doesn’t mean easy.  I mean, I’m like most people.  I work a full-time job, and have a commute.  I’m married.  I’ve got a small child.  I’ve got chores that need to be done.  I’ve just wrapped up ten weeks of studying for a professional certification.  I spend one Sunday in three helping in the children’s religious education program at my church.  In short, I’m busy.

I’m busy, and exercise takes time.  Meal planning takes time.  Cooking takes time.  And like Jim Croce said, “there never seems to be enough time to do the things you want to do, once you find them”.  It’s really easy to eat out, because it lets me spend more time with my wife and son instead of spending it in the kitchen.  Or because I’m tired and don’t want to cook.  It’s really easy to skip exercising for the exact same reasons.  (Or, more properly, for the exact same excuses.)  I have a slight advantage in this area because, most days, I’m done with work at 1:30 in the afternoon.  But it’s still hard to make time to fit everything in, and I can’t imagine how people on a regular 8-5 schedule manage.

But they do.  And I do.  Not because it’s easy, but because it’s necessary.  And there’s ways to make exercise and menu planning and cooking into family time as well.  We go for family walks after dinner, or we go to the pool when the weather’s nice (especially now that the sunburns are healed).  I talk to my son about what he’d like for dinner on Fridays, and talk to my wife about types of meals we’d like to try (although, perhaps, not as much as I should).  I get my son excited about putting on his apron and helping me cook, and about helping me count repetitions as I work through the exercise program my trainer laid out for me.

Simple things aren’t always easy.  But, if you spend enough time working on them and building them into your daily routine, they get easier.  And they are worth it, once you see the results.

Leave a Reply

