Wacky Internet Challenges

I believe i may have, once or twice, expressed my skepticism of the common sort of sponsored weight-loss articles you see on Facebook. You know the kind – “This 70 year old man got totally RIPPED in just one week!  Doctors hate this amazing trick!”  Generally, I assume an inverse relationship between genuine health advice and number of exclamation points.  

So, naturally, I found one I’m going to try. And, by “going to try”, I mean “started yesterday”.  It’s called the Plank Challenge, and it will probably destroy me.

Here’s the deal. For 28 days you assume a plank position – essentially a starting push-up position – and hold it for a set number of seconds (a number that increases over time).  How many?  Well, if you didn’t click the link, here’s the schedule:

Day 1 – 20 seconds

Day 2 – 20 seconds

Day 3 – 30 seconds

Day 4 – 30 seconds

Day 5 – 40 seconds

Day 6 – rest

Day 7 – 45 seconds

Day 8 – 45 seconds

Day 9 – 60 seconds

Day 10 – 60 seconds

Day 11 – 60 seconds

Day 12 – 90 seconds

Day 13 – rest

Day 14 – 90 seconds

Day 15 – 90 seconds

Day 16 – 120 seconds

Day 17 – 120 seconds

Day 18 – 150 seconds

Day 19 – rest

Day 20 – 150 seconds

Day 21 – 150 seconds

Day 22 – 180 seconds

Day 23 – 180 seconds

Day 24 – 210 seconds

Day 25 – rest

Day 26 – 210 seconds

Day 27 – 240 seconds

Day 28 – Until failure 

So, yeah. I’m on day two. And I’ve noticed that my whole body begins shaking just a little about second 15. So I’m pretty sure I’m getting some exercise out of the deal.  Now I’m just curious to see two things:

  1. Will this have any actual, significant benefits?
  2. Will I manage to stave off “until failure” to day 28, as directed?

Watch this space to find out!

One thought on “Wacky Internet Challenges

  1. Goal–new world record? It was recently set by Mao Weidong, in a head to head competition with previous record holder George Hood, a 58 year old former Marine. Hood gave up at 7 hours 40 minutes. Mao ended the competition at 8 hours 1 minute.

    Like

Leave a Reply

