Keep It Fun

Sorry about not writing anything yesterday.  I’m studying for my level one Certified Equity Professional certification, and I just sort of forgot with everything else that happened.  I’ll try not to let that happen again.

I completely meant to write about the personal trainer, yesterday.  My wife and I go to Zen Zone, and – because he’s five and we can’t exactly leave him by himself – my son went with us.  And he had a great time.  So did I, for that matter, but for different reasons.  See, the workout room is a large open area with a padded floor, and a mirrored wall, and an assortment of things like yoga balls and yoga mats and martial arts gear.  So while I was getting put through a regimen of squats and crunches and stretches and the like, my son was making himself an obstacle course.  Sort of a track made of yoga mats, and a couple of those dome-like balancing things I don’t know the name of, and yoga bricks.  He’d sprint around, and then come over and join in on an exercise, and then declare that he’d be my trainer.

Really, it was cute.  And it was a great way to get him involved in exercise in a positive way.  Because it gets him thinking of exercise as a game, and of Zen Zone as a place we get to go, and it makes him want to be healthy.  Because it really is just a game to him, one he gets to play with mommy and daddy.  Which, I’ve noticed, is really the best way to approach all of this weight loss and exercise – the most success I’ve had with it all is when I’ve enjoyed it.  Walking two miles on a treadmill is tedium.  Walking two miles in a park, with my family or my friends, ends before I even realize I’ve started.

There’s a good lesson there, one that I didn’t quite realize I needed.  I’ve been a little down recently, feeling like I’m not making progress the way I wanted or hitting my goals the way I should.  But that shouldn’t be my focus.  My focus should really be on the way I’m changing my life, and the success I’ve had, and the fact that I’m enjoying being able to be more active and being able to do more things with my family.  I need to just enjoy what I’m doing more, and let the health benefits follow from that.

So I think I’m taking my son for a walk tonight.

Leave a Reply

