I Did Not Kill Myself With A Stick

Right off the bat, let’s get the good news out of the way:  307.4 pounds!  YAAAYYYY!  After the last couple of stagnant weeks, it’s nice to see progress happening once more.  I also got out the tape measure and checked my waist, and found what I expected – 49 inches.

To celebrate, I went to a May Day party.

All right, that’s not why I went.  Every year, a friend at church hosts a May Day party.  We all get together to eat, and dance around the Maypole, and play drums, and generally have a good time.  Well, this year, I decided to try something different.  I decided I’d spin a staff in time to the drums.  Note that I did not bring any of my practice staves.  But that didn’t stop me!  No, I just went and found a likely downed sapling, about an inch in diameter and about five and a half feet long, trimmed it a little, and went to work.

It was a pretty nice little impromptu spinning staff, really.  Nicely balanced, with a knot almost perfectly centered on the balance point.  The bark was just rough enough to give a good grip, too.  I nearly kept it, it was so nice.  But I digress.  The point is that I spent a good 45 minutes spinning that thing around.  Nothing too fancy, really.  But a solid amount of time throwing it around.  At the end, I was sore.  It’s more work than you’d think, spinning a wooden staff around – a whole lot of work for the shoulders and back and biceps and triceps, really.

Really, I need to do it again.

Leave a Reply

