“Stop Being So Hard On Yourself”

My wife said that to me on Friday, when I was moping about and generally being a sourpuss because I was feeling convinced that I was going to be hitting week three of no weight loss to speak of.  She went on to remind me that in the past few weeks we’ve been dealing with a lot of exciting family medical issues, and minor crises, and that I’ve still been doing a great job of maintaining my weight in the face of all o that.  When I started to grumble about how I didn’t want to maintain my weight because I wanted to lose weight, she reminded me that – if our positions were reversed – she was telling me the exact same things I’d be telling her.

My wife is wise, as well as beautiful and adorable.

I also lost weight!  Not an enormous amount, but 1.8 pounds isn’t too bad.  Not when I’ve got a vague goal of 2 – 3 pounds a week.  It wasn’t quite where I wanted it to be, but where I want it to be is “down to 219 pounds right now“, so I’ll take achievable reality over pie-in-the-sky impossibility any day.

And now to stay on track!

Leave a Reply

