Eating Well: More Fruit, More Vegetables

I’ve been thinking about my diet recently, and I’ve concluded that I really need to add more fruits and vegetables to it. Partly because I need to set a better example for my son, and partly because they’re healthy. How much do I need to add? Well, looking back on my eating habits, this means I need to start eating them. I’m pretty bad about eating a lot of protein and carbohydrates, but only eating fruits or vegetables in the form of salads (almost exclusively when I eat out) or as the occasional snack. Otherwise, they’re pretty much treated as another seasoning – I add it to a dish for flavor, but I’m not getting anywhere near a full serving a day (let alone the recommended amounts).

Really, if I had a dietician, that person would weep for me.

Honestly, this is going to be a tricky diet change. Carbs and meat I can cook in all kinds of interesting ways. But vegetables? I don’t have much practice. Most of my vegetable cooking strategy is “chop a little bit into a skillet when I stir-fry”, “toss them into the soup”, or “open the bag and microwave them”. Oh, and eating them raw. I’m pretty much in the same boat with fruit – my culinary options boil down to “eat them raw”, “eat them raw but covered with whipped cream”, or “chop them up and bake them in a pie or cake”.

Clearly, this needs work. It seems like I should be able to make just as interesting a dish out of vegetables as I could out of meat or carbs. Just because I don’t know how, doesn’t mean that it can’t be done. So, here’s a new starting goal: get 10% of my calorie intake from fruits and vegetables (that’s 230 calories). Is that enough? Eh, probably not. But it’ll be a step up from where I’m currently at.

So, I’ll toss this out: anyone have any suggestions for recipies or recipie sites I can try? I’ll take main dishes and side dishes.

Leave a Reply

