Cheap Scales Aren’t Worth It

We bought another new scale yesterday. Why? Because we finally decided that the $19 job I bought last month wasn’t doing the job. No, not because it showed me gaining weight. Because it was erratic.

Here’s the proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back. When I weighed in on Sunday, it showed me weighing 320 pounds. And then, a few minutes later, it showed me weighing 315 pounds. And then it showed me weighing 318 pounds. And then, when I got out of the shower, it showed me weighing 318 pounds again. Then, when I got on it yesterday morning, it showed me weighing 323 pounds.

Ladies and gentlemen, I did overeat on Sunday. But not to a level that would have made me gain three to five pounds overnight.

So, we bought a new scale. When I got on it last night, it weighed me at 317.2 pounds. This morning, it weighed me the same. It is now the new official scale of Half of Me. The other one will, I believe, become the official scale of my dumpster.

Incidentally, scales have gotten overly complicated in the past few years. When we were shopping for them, there were wifi-ready scales with apps that automatically synchronizied with FitBits and Apple Watches, and that calculated your BMI and your water consumption and tell you how many calories you can count. I’m torn between thinking “neat” and almost buying one, and the contempt that comes from seeing something with far too many bells and whistles on it. What’s next, a combination scale/foot bath/pedicure robot?

…actually, that would be kind of cool.

Anyway, though, avoid the cheap scales. Drop a few more bucks, get it web-enabled if you want, but make sure you have something that will actually work. It makes the weight loss a lot easier, if you know what you actually weigh.

Leave a Reply

