Dad’s Gotta Get His Walking Goal

Amongst the many reasons I have for exercising and losing weight is the fact that I want to be a good example for my son. What I hadn’t realized, though, is how much attention he’s already paying.  I don’t make a big deal out of my efforts, because I don’t want him to develop body image issues. But he still sees what I do.

Last night, he got excited when my wife announced that she had hit her walking goal for the day. Then he asked me if I had. I hadn’t – I still had about a mile to go – and he looked at me and said “you’ll do it, daddy.”

After dinner, we decided to go for a family walk. It was a beautiful evening, so we leashed the dog and went outside to enjoy it. After about a quarter mile, my son asked me if I’d hit my goal yet. I said no, and suddenly it became his mission in life to make sure I did. We walked all over the place, and any time my wife tried to steer us in any way back towards our condo, he’d ask “did daddy get his walking goal?”

“Not yet,” one or the other of us would respond.

“Then we should go this way!”  And he’d take off in a random direction.

So, yeah. I met my walking goal. More importantly, I saw the influence this has on my son. And I’m glad to see that it’s good.

Leave a Reply

