Take Your Opportunities Where You Find Them

I honestly didn’t think I was going to hit my walking goal yesterday. And then I did.

Here’s what happened: I was enormously tired, yesterday. When we all got home, I got into my sweats and did my exercise cards and was generally ready to go to bed early. But then, after we got my son into bed, my wife discovered that we were out of sinus medicine – which is sort of a strange thing to type, since two of the three humans in the household were suffering from sinus infections until quite recently. She asked me to go and acquire more, and I (grudgingly) acquiesed.

As I walked out to the car, I noticed that I had 0.6 miles to go to finish my goal for the day. My first thought was to park way back at the end of the parking lot, so as to force myself to walk further. However, it was pouring down rain and I didn’t really relish long distance walking in that sort of weather. So I did the next best thing: I walked up and down the aisles of my grocery store, deliberately starting at the far end of the store from the pharmacy and walking up and down every aisle in the building.

I hit my walking goal before I checked out. We have a big grocery store in the area.

Making excuses is easy. I know I sure tried, yesterday. “I’m tired.” “It’s raining,a nd I’ll melt.” “I don’t wanna.” (I don’t actually know if that last one is an excuse, come to think of it.) Heck, I’ve made them for years. A couple of decades, even. What’s more difficult is making opportunities, and then taking them. But they’re all around. All we have to do is look.

Or, at least, be willing to walk around a grocery store for an extra fifteen minutes.

Leave a Reply

