You must be kidding me…

Hey, look!  A Saturday blog post!

I slept in this morning, all the way to 5 am. Then, full of eager anticipation, I climbed out of bed and went to go weigh myself. It’s Saturday, after all – the day I usually weigh in and the day I’m anticipating hitting my halfway mark.  So I put it on the floor and tap it with my foot (it’s a digital scale, so you have to turn it on first).

Nothing.

Hmmm, I think. Must not have tapped it hard enough.  So I do it again, with a little more force.

Still nothing.

All right, it’s not the end of the world. It’s done this before, and it just needed new batteries. Granted it’s only been two months since I changed the batteries, but still…

Two sets of batteries later, I have to admit that it is well and truly dead.  So I’m settling in to the idea that I’m not weighing in this morning after all, when my wife suggests that I head to the drug store down the street. It’s a national chain, and it’s open 24 hours a day.

I dither. I really don’t want to go out in the cold, but I really do want to weigh in. So, finally, I get dressed and head out only to find that the store is closed. The national chain changed their hours to run 8 am to 8 pm, as of January.

Long story short, it was 8:30 in the morning before I got a new scale. And how did I do?  Well, check back Monday for the answer to that!

Leave a Reply

