Eating Well: Egg Salad

I finally made myself lunch again. Small victories, right?

Somehow – and I don’t reqlly get why – injuring my foot made it really, really difficult to pack my lunch. Instead of either making it the night before or getting up on time and making it before work, I ended up being a slacker and just buying out. Strange, right? After all, I don’t use my feet to make meals. To be honest, it was probably just an excuse. Either that, or things just got hectic right around the time that I hurt myself.

As you might imagine, this contributed to my struggles to hit my calorie goals over the last couple of weeks. Generally speaking, when you eat out, you have two options:

  1. Eat too much, and feel full.
  2. Eat a reasonable amount of calories, and get hungry in a couple of hours.

If you have time to go somewhere decent (and more expensive), you might be able to strike a happy balance between the two. However, if you’ve got a half hour for lunch and are trying to keep things inexpensive, you have to choose one or the other. I got tired of doing that, and tired of making excuses for doing it, so I packed my lunch. Homemade egg salad, on wheat bread. Here’s the breakdown:

Egg Salad

Ingredients

6 large eggs, 432 calories
3 oz mayonnaise, 578 calories
1 oz dijon mustard, 28 calories

Directions

  • Hard boil the eggs. The best way I’ve found to do this is to put them in a pot and bring the water to a boil. Once the water is boiling, cover the pot and turn of the heat and let them sit for 15 minutes. Then remove the eggs, crack the shells, and put them in ice water for half an hour or so. They peel nicely, if you do that.
  • Cut the eggs in half. Turn the yolks into a bowl and crumble with a fork. Chop the whites finely, and add them to the bowl as well.
  • Add the mayonnaise and mustard. Mix thoroughly.

Notes

  • When I weighed all of this out, it made exactly 16 ounces of egg salad. The calorie count comes out to 65 calories an ounce, and I figure about 4 ounces for a sandwich.
  • The 800 pound calorie gorilla in this recipe is the mayonnaise. If you use a light mayonnaise instead, you’ll cut things to 42 calories per ounce. (I must have used a reduced calorie mayonnaise, because I came up with 51/ounce from the nutrition labels).
  • I don’t care for pickle relish in my egg salad. If you do, sweet pickle relish runs about 37 calories per ounce. Remember to adjust the calories accordingly.
  • If you want to make this a “deviled egg salad”, add red pepper and paprika (or, even better, smoked paprika) to taste – I’d start about 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon of paprika, and work from there.
  • Note that I haven’t factored the bread in to the calorie costs.
One thought on “Eating Well: Egg Salad

  1. Pingback: T.G.I.F. – Half of Me

Leave a Reply

