Honesty Is The Best Policy

Yesterday, I tried to do something stupid and “get away” with eating something by not writing it down. This is, in a word, stupid. I mean, let’s be honest here – whether or not I put the calories in my tracker, they’ve gone into my stomach. What on Earth was I thinking the benefit would be? So, in the end, I added the chocolate chip cookie and deducted the (estimated) calories from my budget.

I don’t have any need to “cheat”. My calorie budget is set up so that I can eat whatever I want, as long as I stay on budget. And that cookie was (barely) within that calorie budget. I could have eaten it proudly, aware that I was still on goal. But instead, I acted like I could fool myself. Like somehow, if I didn’t write the calories down, they “didn’t count”. This kind of behavior can become a huge problem, if left unchecked.

So, I’m not going to let it go unchecked. That’s why I added the cookie to my tracker. And that’s why I didn’t give myself credit for doing my exercise cards, when I didn’t do them. It wasn’t my fault I didn’t – traffic was so bad yesterday that my son and I didn’t get home until nearly 7 pm – but I still didn’t do them. And that’s all right. My goals are there to encourage me, after all. They aren’t there to flagellate me if I fail. But I still can’t claim to have done something I didn’t do.

Honesty is the best policy, after all. And if I can’t be honest with myself, who am I going to be honest with?

Leave a Reply

