Good Advice

Sometimes, I really hate good advice.

Yesterday, I wrote about how my toe was starting to feel better and how – with luck – I’d be getting back to walking today. Well, my wife read that. And she reminded me of a fairly stupid habit we both have. We both hate being sick or injured, and so we push ourselves. As soon as we get feeling better, we jump back into things and work too hard and relapse. She then pointed out, quite reasonably, that I’d managed to lose some weight last week by working on just hitting my calorie goals, and so it wouldn’t derail me if I gave myself another week to let my toe finish healing.

She’s right, of course. It won’t derail me, and it’s the wiser course of action. Doesn’t mean I enjoy it, though. I really miss the walking – I still don’t have much of a clue what to do with myself on break, without it.

Sometimes, I really hate good advice. But I think I’d hate re-injuring myself more.

Leave a Reply

