I Found My “Why”, Nineteen Years Ago

I’d like to go just a little off topic today, and tell you about my wife. Why? Because she’s the single most important reason I have for continuing my efforts to lose weight and get healthy – edging out my son by a small margin.

I’ve known my wife for nineteen years, and I’ve been fortunate enough to have her as my wife for nearly fourteen years. She’s my best friend, my greatest support, my cheerleader, and my love. I’ve held her hand through bad times and good times, laughed and cried with her, argued and agreed with her. she’s encouraged me to be a better person than I thought I could be, and sometimes that encouragement has come in the form of pushing me. She’s challenged me and walked with me, and while our life together hasn’t always been easy, it has always been worth the struggle.

She is the reason I’ve achieved everything I’ve done – personally and professionally. Because she sees something in me that I’ve never seen in myself, something great and good that I don’t understand and often don’t believe in. But she makes me want to be that person, to live up to her faith and her confidence in me.

Nineteen years is a long time, but it isn’t long enough. I plan to have nineteen more, and nineteen more after that. And more beyond that, a whole lifetime’s worth. Because my wife is my lover and my best friend, and we could have a thousand years together and – in the face of the joy and love she has brought into my life – it would never be long enough.

Happy Valentines Day

Leave a Reply

