Nobody Toes The Trouble I’ve Seen…

Yes, I’m reaching. And yes, I’m harping on my foot. Because it’s frustrating the heck out of me. For two days now I haven’t been able to get my walking in, and I really miss it. Miss it to the point that I keep trying to walk around the ground floor of my office, and finding that I keep picking up the pace and making myself regret it. Not a lot, mind. Just [i]enough[/i] that I wish I hadn’t done it.

I give up. As suggested by my wife yesterday, it’s off to urgent care I go today once work is over. That way, I can at least make sure I haven’t done more than bruise myself badly. Sigh.

So let’s talk about keeping going in the face of adversity. It’s easy enough to give up when things go wrong, after all. And things have certainly gone wrong for me this week. Which is why those “whys” I talked about yesterday are so important. It would be easy to give up and let myself slide, except for the fact that I have good reasons not to. I still want to get myself healthy so I can have a long and happy life with my wife, and so that I can keep up with my son, and so that I stay healthy. Because of this, I’m not letting my foot injury stop me. I’m just… modifying the plan, a little. I can’t do a lot of walking for exercise, but I can (for example) still stay on my calorie budget. And I can still do my exercise cards, once I cull out the ones that require me to do a lot of work on my toes (no pushups or jumping jacks, for instance). I can’t do one thing, but I can still do other things.

That’s the important part about handling adversity with your goals, I believe. Modify what you’re doing. Take a realistic look at the current situation, and figure out what you can and you can’t do. Adjust your plans accordingly, and decide what needs to happen to get your plan back fully on track. And most importantly, don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

