De Agony Of De Feet

So let’s start off with the great (and mildly frustrating) news: my last weigh-in put me at 324.8 pounds! The great news is that this means that I’m only 4.8 pounds from my half-way mark! The frustrating news is that I missed being down 95 pounds by 0.8! Grrrrr! Still, if that’s the worst news I have all day – that I didn’t lose quite as much weight as I would have liked – I’ll consider it a good day overall.

Sadly, I don’t think I’ll make 100 pounds by Valentines Day.

Hitting my walking goal may be challenging this week. On Sunday I managed to drop the foot of an aluminum desk chair right on my naked second toe. Nothing’s broken, although I sure swore like it was (good thing my son wasn’t around for that little performance…), but the nail bed is visibly bruised and it’s tender. And naturally, being at the end of my toe, it aches when I walk. So I’m going to try, but I’m not going to feel too bad if I give up and miss goal. Because, despite what the stupid overly macho motivational t-shirts try to tell you, pain isn’t weakness leaving the body. Pain is your body’s way of telling you that you’ve done yourself an injury and maybe you should stop doing that.

Despite the toe pain, I’m feeling good. Confident, even. I’m really looking forward to this week and to getting myself back on track. I really fell off the wagon the last two weeks – I’m not blaming my mom and her health, but helping out with her really threw me into a tailspin – and I’m excited about getting back to work.

Leave a Reply

