Health Is Important

That seems like a no-brainier, right?  Health is important. But I bring it up because I’m at the hospital with my mother right now – nothing to worry about, I’m just taking her to her follow-up assessment.  The doctors want to make sure she’s recovering from having her stent redone.

It’s just one of those things that makes you think, you know?  Taking your mother to the hospital, and trying to make sure she’s healthy. It doesn’t feel like it was that long ago that I was little, and she was taking care of me.  And now I’m helping her find her way through the medical center and complete her health self-check, because she needs a walker some days and she’s legally blind.

I suppose I could write a lot about this. It that would get into some of my frustrations with choices she’s made, and that’s not really fair to her. Because it’s my frustration.  And I’m not living her life or fully aware of why she makes those choices.

So, I’ll just say that I’m being reminded of just how important my health is. And if why I’m working to get healthy and lose weight. Because I like being able to see. And I like being able to get around. And I like being independent.  And at my age, I’ll likely be close to my mom’s age before I have a realistic chance of grandchildren, and I’d like to be able to see them.

My health is important. I think I’ll keep it, as long as I can.

Leave a Reply

