Inspiration, Lack Of

Some days, the subject of an entry comes easily. I’m fired up from something I’ve done, or something I’ve read or heard, and I’m raring to go. Other days, I stare at my blank screen and wonder how on earth I’m going to write something that isn’t “I’m still working on losing weight. How was your day?”

This is one of those latter days.

Don’t get me wrong. This isn’t one of those “goaldrum” days I lamented about back in December. I feel fine. I still feel motivated. I’m struggling a little to meet all of my goals because of working overtime, but I’m not discouraged. I’m just, well, staring at the screen and wondering how on earth I’m going to write something that isn’t “I’m still working on losing weight.”

Maybe that’s the point, though. Maybe every day isn’t – even shouldn’t – be a new emotional day. You can’t have new, deep insights every day. Some days, you just do what you need to do. Maybe you struggle a little, or maybe it comes easily. It doesn’t matter. What matters is that you did it, and you had another little victory that took you one step closer to realizing your goal. And you know what? That’s all right. Because slow and steady wins the race.

Leave a Reply

