Treading Water on the Shortest Day of the Year

Well, things could have been a whole lot worse. I gained 0.8 of a pound, which is the wrong direction entirely. On the other hand, given that I pretty much failed to meet my calorie budget or have any consistency with my exercise program last week, it’s not too bad. I’m still seething over it, but I can live with it.

Also? Pro tip: do not go to a buffet for Sunday breakfast, no matter how tempting it seems. Just saying.

Now, I could mope and complain about gaining a little weight back. But, you know what? It’s the Winter Solstice today. Or tomorrow, depending on where you live. The actual time of the solstice is December 22, 2015 at 04:49 UTC. Which works out to December 21, 2015 at 23:49 where I live. But regardless of exactly what time it is where you live, from here until the summer solstice in June the days get a little longer and a little brighter. And I think that’s a good metaphor for how I’m looking at this. Sure, things didn’t go as well as I’d have liked last week. But, I’m making progress. And from here, life will just get brighter and better with each passing day.

And lighter. Let’s not forget lighter.

So forget New Year’s resolutions! Join me in setting a Solstice Goal instead! Pick something in your life you need to grow and develop, and commit yourself to it tonight! Then let the rising sun remind you each morning that you have a thing that needs doing. And then, as the days grow slowly and incrementally longer, let them remind you that a goal isn’t something you achieve overnight. It’s something you achieve over time, through small steps. One day at a time.

Leave a Reply

