Eating Well: Baguette Pizza

As I mentioned yesterday, one of my beliefs about this exercise and weight loss program I’m on is that I’m not on a diet. I’m changing my diet. I say that a lot, because I think it’s important to stress this fact. A diet is a temporary thing in which you deny yourself foods you love in order to lose some weight, and then it’s over and you go back to eating the foods you love and you regain the weight. That’s not what I’m doing.

Case in point: I love pizza. My son loves pizza. My wife loves pizza. And I’m not giving pizza up in order to lose weight. But I can certainly have a little sanity in what I eat. So, this is the pizza I made last week:

1/3 baguette: 71 calories/ounce, total 142 calories
1 link Italian sausage (I used a sweet basil & bell pepper Italian sausage): 230 calories
2 oz Mozzarella cheese: 81 calories/ounce, 162 calories total
4 tbsp pizza sauce: 35 calories (that’s about 1/4 cup, if you’re curious)
12 slices turkey pepperoni: 4 calories/slice, total 48 calories

  1. Cut 1/3 of a baguette, and split it in half.
  2. Coat the baguette with pizza sauce (I dumped it all on one side, closed the bread, and rubbed it back and forth).
  3. Sprinkle about 1/2 ounce of Mozzarella on each slice.
  4. Place 6 slices pepperoni on each slice.
  5. Chop the sausage (you can do this easily if it’s frozen). Place half the sausage on each slice.
  6. Cover the pizza with the remaining cheese.
  7. Bake approximately 10 minutes at 350 degrees F.

That’s a 617 calorie personal pizza, there, which is about 27% of my daily calorie budget.  Not bad at all, for a full meal.  But, since this is a basic recipe, you can modify it further:

  • Using an Italian turkey sausage can cut the calories. They seem to run abut about 160 calories for a full link, so that reduces the total to 547 calories.
  • If you don’t want the sausage at all (my wife doesn’t), that makes it 387 calories.
  • The classic Supreme pizza would add onion, green pepper, olives, and mushrooms. Your mileage will vary, but mushrooms run about 56 calories/ounce, onions run about 11 calories/ounce, green bell peppers run about 5.6 calories/ounce, and olives run about 32 calories/ounce. So if you use a full ounce of each you’re looking at a 721 calorie pizza.

Really, this recipe is extremely modular. Go wild with it.

One thought on “Eating Well: Baguette Pizza

  1. Pingback: Yet Another Friday Potpourri – Half of Me

Leave a Reply

