I Clearly Don’t Understand Weight Loss…

I had my post all written out in my head. See, I’d climbed on the scales on Saturday and seen a reading of 349 pounds, which was a 3.4 pound gain from my previous weigh-in. And I was all ready to go. I was going to write about the importance of not getting discouraged because of a temporary setback. I was going to talk about how I just need to get back on task, and live within my calorie budget, and meet my exercise goals. It was going to be great and awe-inspiring and just what I needed to get myself motivated once more.

Then I got on the scales for my official weigh-in today. 343.8 pounds. A 1.8 pound loss from my last weigh in day, and 5.2 pounds since Saturday.

what is this

No, I don’t get it either. I mean… I’ll take it. Gladly. But… 5.2 pounds? In two days? I mean, I met my calorie goals on Saturday and Sunday. I just don’t see how I did that, though. If anyone out there has a theory, I’d love to hear it. Because I don’t understand what happened.

But, like I said, I’ll take it! And now, on to the check-in.

Friday is one of the reasons I was expecting to see something like the 349 pounds. I walked 3.57 miles, ate 2,712 calories, and burned 3,912 calories. Which, now that I type it out, makes the weight loss for the week make more sense. Even if the weight loss from Saturday to today doesn’t. But I digress. Weekends, I have no specific distance goals. On Saturday I walked 3.06 miles, at 2,166 calories, and burned 3,862 calories. And Sunday I walked 1.48 miles, ate 1,554 calories (what can I say? I didn’t do a whole lot and didn’t feel particularly hungry), and burned 3,234 calories.

This week? Back to parking on the top floor of the parking garage. It’s been a winning formula so far, so I should get back on it. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll figure out what happened over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

