Failure Bad. Dessert Good.

(Edited on 11/26/2015, to correct some of the information about the fruit salad.)

All right, let’s get the check in off my chest now. I didn’t do so well, yesterday. I only walked 4.66 miles, and while I burned 4,260 calories I also ate 2,894 calories. Not my best day. But, not my worst.

What happened? Well, it started with my team deciding to order in Famous Dave’s barbecue. I actually did pretty well, all things considered – the food sat four feet from my desk for four hours, and I only had a single (large) meal out of it. Still, I ate quite a bit. I was in the vicinity of only 400 calories left in my budget by the time dinner rolled around and I was tired enough to just give in. Which is why I didn’t get all my walking in as well – I had a thing at church from 7 to 9, and it ran late, and I just came home and flopped into bed.

Sometimes, life kicks the plan in the knees. But hey, it’s just one day.

Anyway, I don’t think anyone came here to bear witness to my kvetching. I promised gravy and dessert yesterday, and I plan to follow through!

Gravy

6 cups broth or stock (turkey, in this case): 187 calories
3 tablespoons butter: 305 calories
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour: 85 calories

  1. Make a roux by melting the butter in a pot, and then whisking the flour in. Keep whisking until the roux reaches a golden brown color. It’ll smell a little nutty, which is a good thing. You can go darker if you want, which will increase the flavor but decrease the thickening power of the roux.
  2. Slowly, perhaps a half cup at a time, add the broth to the roux. Whisk as you do, until the broth is fully incorporated into the roux mixture, and then add more broth.
  3. Generally, I use as much of the turkey drippings as possible, and then make up the difference with chicken broth.
  4. There’s 507 calories in this, if you drank all six cups. I wouldn’t, and I love gravy. I’d guess that I consume about half a cup, between putting it on potatoes and over the turkey, so that’s right about 48 calories per serving.
  5. You can modify this a lot. Boil the giblets, chop them fine, and toss them in. Dice onions, and saute them in the melted butter before adding the flour. Add spices. Go wild, and remember to account for the extra calories as needed.
  6. Seriously, don’t drink all six cups. I can’t imagine what that would feel like.

Next up is a family tradition, a dessert I inherited from my dad and he inherited from his dad. I don’t think it goes much further, really. We never had a name for it growing up, other than “fruit salad”, but I’ve recently been told that it is pretty much identical to a dessert called Ambrosia. I know nothing about that stuff, so let’s have a look together.

Man. That Ambrosia calls for *mini marshmallows*. Seriously? Whatever. I’m sticking with my family “fruit salad’. And here it is:

My Family’s Holiday Fruit Salad

2 cans pineapple chunks: 558 calories
3 large apples: 348 calories
3 bananas: 315 calories
1/2 pint whipping cream: 809 calories
Powdered sugar to taste: 90 – 120 calories

  1. Peel, core, and chop apples. Peel and chop banannas. Drain pineapple. Toss together in a large bowl.
  2. Beat whipping cream until soft peaks begin to form. Add powdered sugar until desired sweetness is reached (you’ll be mixing this with the fruit, so don’t make it too sweet). Beat whipping cream and sugar until stiff peaks form.
  3. Add whipping cream to bowl, toss with fruit.
  4. Chill.
  5. The total calorie cost for this is 2,150. I’m not really sure how to quantify the serving size (what, exactly, constitutes a “large bowl”?), so I’m gonna guess and say I get 8 servings out of this. That’s… 269 calories. And it’s filling. Look, fruit! It’s healthy! Really!

Tomorrow’s the big day! Let’s see how that goes, shall we?

One thought on “Failure Bad. Dessert Good.

  1. Pingback: Eating Well: Cranberry Sauce – Half of Me

Leave a Reply

