Man, Thanksgiving Is Gonna Be Brutal

For those of you who don’t know, Thanksgiving here in the US is the day when we celebrate… something?  I’ll be honest, I was never entirely clear about the day.  It’s not celebrating the founding of our country (that’s the Fourth of July), or thanking soldiers for their service to our country (that’s Memorial Day and Veteran’s Day), or anything else.  As a kid, I mostly learned that it had something to do with Pilgrims being happy that the Native Americans helped them not starve to death.

…Hang on.  Checking Wikipedia, now.

All right.  It appears to be derived from, amongst other things, the Puritan “Days of Thanksgiving” and from harvest festivals.  And, if I read that article right, it was fixed on the fourth Thursday of November on December 26, 1941.  On the grounds that it would give the nation an economic boost.

Huh.  The things you learn.

Anyway, this is almost entirely off the topic.  The point, here, is that in the US the primary purpose of Thanksgiving these days is to eat a whole huge feast and then sit around and watch football.  And I got a dry run of it on Saturday, when I went to my in-laws house.  I think, optimistically, that I managed to stay on calorie budget.  Or, at least, that’s what I’m telling myself I did.  Because, really, without taking the time to weigh your food, how do you know?  And honestly, given the large slice of apple with ice cream that I had for dessert, I’m probably kidding myself.

So, I need a plan!  Or, at least, some information!  Let’s see:

It’s not exhaustive, but it’s a start.  I’m missing the per ounce calorie count for bread, which will dominate the calorie count of the stuffing (onions and celery, although I’ll include them for completeness, won’t add that much).  Gravy will take some finagling, but it’s mostly flour and turkey drippings and milk and I’ll look that up later.  Also, I’ll be curious to see just how many ounces of mashed potato I actually eat – I’m betting it looks like a lot more than it really is.

Tomorrow and Wednesday (and maybe Thursday as well), I’ll get the rest of this calorie information together and start breaking down the calorie content of the dishes I plan to make for Thanksgiving.  There will be recipes!

As far as checking in goes, Friday saw me walk 5.47 miles, eat 2,360 calories, and burn 4,407 calories.  Saturday I walked 3.84 miles and burned 4,166 calories.  As I mentioned above, I haven’t the slightest idea how much I ate that day.  But I like to think (or at least hope) that I didn’t eat more than I burned.  And yesterday I walked 2.91 miles, ate 2,040 calories, and burned 3,714 calories.  So I think I did okay.

Leave a Reply

