FitBit Follow-Up

Back in Gear Review: FitBit, Part Two (the app), I made the following statement about annoying new habits of the app:

“…the latest version of the app randomly makes me sign in when I open it – three times in a row, the first day after I installed the update, and 1 to 3 times a day since then.”

Since then, I’ve emailed FitBit’s technical support group three times. The first two times, I was merely assured that they were sorry for the inconvenience and that their engineers were working on the issue. Standard customer service boilerplate – I know, because I spent three years writing that sort of thing for my firm. You get to recognize it pretty quick. The third time I emailed them, however, they also suggested that I delete the app from my phone and reinstall it. It sounded to me like the app equivalent of “hard reset your computer”, but I figured I had nothing to lose.

I finally got around to doing it last night. And so far – knock wood – it’s worked. I had to log in when I first reinstalled it, but I haven’t had to mess with it since then. I have no idea why it worked, either. But I’ll take it.

Checking in, I ate 2,078 calories yesterday and burned 4,371. I also walked… wait for it… 5.33 miles! Yep, that’s right. I made goal yesterday, after slacking for two days. Sadly, it’s also how I discovered that my FitBit doesn’t seem to want to register walking distances on a treadmill. Fortunatly, the FitBit app has an option to manually log exercise, so I’ll just have to bust out my iPod pedometer (iPodometer?) and track it that way. Because it is getting chilly and damp of an evening around here, and that’s a bad combination for walking.

Leave a comment