The things you don’t do

I don’t think I’m going to make my walking goal today, and possibly not tomorrow either.

My wife woke me up at midnight, because my son was sick – coughing and hacking, trying to throw up, and running a slight fever.  Clearly, he couldn’t go to day care today.  Which put us in a dilemma familiar to any family where both parents have to work:  who stays home?  Because I’m out of sick time, and she’s just started a brand new job and is super worried about taking time off.

Ultimately, we decided to have me stay home.  Which is killing my wife, because she’s the mommy and she wants to be able to stay home and take care of her little boy.  But, it’s still the least bad solution we have.

Now, I don’t mind staying home to take care of my son.  Losing out on pay will suck, but we can survive it.  But… I just don’t see me hitting 5.3 miles today.  I mean, it’s not like I can take my sick child out and go for a quick walk around the neighborhood or anything.  And I’m in better shape than I’ve been in a while, but I don’t see myself walking out the door and walking five miles after my wife gets home.  I mean, I’ll still go for a walk.  But… five miles at one go?  Not ready for that.  Not by a long shot.

So, if you don’t see me reporting that I’ve lost a total of 60 pounds on Monday (which I’d hoped to be able to do), you’ll know why.  Because some things are more important.

Leave a Reply

