Eight-Tenths of Me!

If you haven’t already done so, take a moment to glance over at the “Where I’m At” side bar. Go on, look. I’ll wait right here.

I’VE LOST FIFTY POUNDS!

Words fail me. I mean, I’ve lost about 12% of my total body weight and I’m 25% of the way to my goal! I don’t even remember the last time I weighed less than 370! I mean, I think I was around 350 when I got married. But I don’t remember. I really don’t. I actually keep looking at that information, because I can’t believe it.

Last night, my wife asked me what the best thing was about being fifty pounds lighter. And that’s a hard question to answer – not because there’s nothing good about it, but because there’s so much good about how it feels that I don’t know where to start. I mean, I feel lighter. When I walk, there’s a kind of a spring in my step. I have an easier time keeping up with my son. I can go for a two mile walk in a park for fun, and not have to stop every hundred feet to rest. I’ve had to buy a new belt, and I’m already on the last hole on it. My clothes feel loose. I catch my breath faster when I get winded.

I just feel… good. And that’s just from 50 pounds and two months. I can’t imagine what I’ll feel like at 319 pounds. Or at my goal of 219. Even now, it doesn’t feel real.

I worry a little, though. I mean, looking back, this feels like it’s been too easy. It’s only been two months since I started, and I’ve lost fifty pounds. And I worry that it’s going too fast, or that since it’s been so easy that I’ll lose focus and do something else. Never mind the fact that, as my wife pointed out, this hasn’t been easy at all. It’s been two months of reducing my calorie intake, and of pushing myself to walk more and to exercise more, and one month of aching legs and feet. As she said, it’s been fast. It hasn’t been easy.

So, I’ll take her advice and get back to celebrating. FIFTY POUNDS! Something of a milestone, right? Right! And, like all other milestones, it means I now have to increase my efforts. At present, my daily fitness goals are: walk five miles, climb twenty flights of stairs, hit 45 active minutes, and eat no more than 2,400 calories. Time to change that up a little…

Starting today, and then every Friday thereafter, I’m going to add a tenth of a mile to my distance goals. So, this week, I’ll be walking 5.1 miles. The following week, 5.2. And so on. I’ve also increased my active minutes goal to 50, and then I’ll be adding another minute a week. Calories won’t be changing right now, though – I’ve already got a program of cutting 100 calories each time I lose 40 pounds, so I don’t see the need. And I probably won’t increase the stair-climbing goal for the near future. Twenty flights is a lot of stairs.

Thank you to everyone who’s commented and encouraged me so far. Let’s do this again, when I’ve lost a hundred!

Leave a Reply

