Hopping Down Off The Wagon

I have the impulse control of a coked-up gecko, apparently.

So here’s the situation: you may have noticed that, on Saturday, I attended some sort of a party with my four-year-old. That party was a birthday party for the daughter of a friend. Like all birthday parties for small children, there was cake and other foods in attendance. I didn’t make a pig of myself, but the party started at noon and by 1 pm I realized that there was no way I was making my calorie intake goal for the day. Something about hot fudge cake and cupcakes just wrecks me. Sunday rolled around, and I was back on the wagon right until lunch, when we went out to City Barbecue for lunch.

That wagon looks mighty fine, sitting over there waiting for me to climb back up on it.

Really, though, things weren’t as dire as all that. Sure, I didn’t track my calories. I also didn’t eat a pint of Ben & Jerrys for breakfast, lunch, and dinner each day (and I do love me some Ben & Jerry’s Phish Food…). I just got a little slack – not that I’m excusing myself for that. “Getting a little slack” is how the “not bothering to meet my goals” problem starts.

All of this reminds me, though: I never *did* discuss my goals. Here’s the current ones:

  • Walk five miles a day, as tracked by my FitBit.
  • Climb ten flights of stairs.
  • Engage in a light workout three days a week (Monday, Wednesday, Friday).
  • Eat no more than 2400 calories per day.

All of those are, I think, utterly doable. And as they become easier, I’ll be stepping them up.

Oh, and if any of you out there have a FitBit and want to challenge me to one of their contests (Goal Day, Weekend Warrior, whatever), just friend me through FitBit. I do love some competition.

Leave a Reply

